The Negev Museum of Art is located in the Old City of Beer Sheva, in a structure that was used in the past as home to the Turkish governor, during the Ottoman reign in Israel.
The structure was built in 1906 next to the grand mosque and other governmental buildings.
During the British mandate the structure was used as home to the appointed district officer, and later as a girls' school. After the declaration of independence, the structure served as the city's municipality building, and was later transformed into The Negev Museum of Art, as part of the Archeology Museum compound. In 2004, an extensive renovation was completed, which included the addition of an elevator and modification of the inner spaces to modern museum presentation standards, and it is now declared as a preserved historic building. The museum contains two galleries holding temporary displays, and a vast entrance yard. Visitors can enjoy temporary exhibitions and live concerts during the summer.